National Steering Committee

The National Steering Committee is an advisory body to the Citizen Alum main office and Members’ Council. Its membership, which includes some individuals on the Members’ Council, will connect Citizen Alum to key associations and networks, bring diverse perspectives to planning discussions, and offer  guidance on potential sources of funding.


Harry Boyte

Director, Center for Democracy and Citizenship, Augsburg College

National Coordinator, American Commonwealth Partnership


Jennifer Domegal-Goldman

National Manager, American Democracy Project

American Association of State Colleges and Universities


Timothy K. Eatman

Co-Director, Imagining America: Artists and Scholars in Public Life

Assistant Professor of Education

Syracuse University


Donna Heiland

Vice President and Special Assistant to the President

Emerson College


Gary Krenz (ex officio)

Special Counsel to the President

University of Michigan


Jawuan Miguel Meeks

Doctoral Student, Education

Michigan State University


Susan Sturm

George M. Jaffin Professor of Law and Social Responsibility

Director of the Center for Institutional and Social Change

Columbia University Law School


John J. Theis

Professor of Political Science

Director, Public Achievement Program

Lonestar College-Kingwood


David Weerts

Co-Director, Jandris Center for Innovative Higher Education

Associate Professor, Department of Organizational Leadership, Policy, and Development

College of Education and Human Development

University of Minnesota


Mark Wilson

Coordinator of Community and Civic Engagement

Director, Living Democracy Project

College of Liberal Arts

Auburn University